Learn the rules of basketball at How Stuff Works.

How Basketball WorksSure, I played basketball in high school P.E. I know that there is no “carrying,” that is, moving with the ball without “dribbling” or bouncing it. But the rest, I have forgotten if I ever learned it.

Not to worry. Writer Kevin Bosnor lays out the whole thing, nice and simple like, in his article “How Basketball Works.” (http://entertainment.howstuffworks.com/basketball.htm/printable). Bosnor starts at the beginning: the game was thought up by Dr. James Naismith, “who invented basketball in 1891 by nailing two peach baskets to the balconies on opposite ends of a YMCA gym in Springfield, Massachusetts.” Peach basket; basketball. I get it.

Bosnor goes on to describe the players and their functions, the court layout and the rules. For example, Bosnor writes, “Different points are awarded to players based on where they are when they shoot the ball.” If a player successfully shoots from outside the three-point arc, the team gets, you guessed it, three points! (When I revealed to my co-worker that this was new information for me, he scoffed, “Why do you think they call it a ‘three pointer?”) But if it is shot from within the arc, the score is only two points.

Become comfortable with the basketball season with these insights from Kevin Bosnor!

How Basketball Works
http://entertainment.howstuffworks.com/basketball.htm/printable

Leave a comment